top of page

How to successfully travel with a baby

Hi everyone!


Mark, MJ and I recently took a 4 day trip to Nashville with our 8 month old. We had such a great time and ate soooo much food. I wish we could have stayed longer!


I wanted to share with you all a few travel tips for traveling with a baby. I learned a few things from my first trip to New York a few weeks back that i did differently this time around.


These few basic tips will save you a ton of stress & headache making your trip more fun and smooth.


 

1. I brought my own formula, diapers and wipes. The first time I traveled I didn’t bring those items with me( just a tiny amount for the plane ride) because I thought I’ll just buy some upon arrival, the less I have to carry the better. Well that was a nightmare rushing to the store to buy everything MJ needed after hours of traveling, save yourself time and the headache. Bring your essential baby items with you. Plus the load will be way lighter on your way back.


2. Toys toys toys. I definitely lost some on our trip but I brought a few of MJs cheap little teether and stroller toys. When he got fussy we brought out a toy. When he was tired of that one, bam another one. Before you know it, our flight was descending.


3.Go to the dollar store, get mini travel containers and fill them with your own baby soap and lotion. I brought a Johnson and Johnson travel wash and lotion on my first trip and it broke MJs skin out. Bring what you know their skin can handle to avoid any unpleasant skin reactions while you’re traveling.


4. If your baby fits bring the travel system. We stopped using it for the most part but we brought our travel system with us. What was great about this is he would fall asleep in the car and we would gently transfer him to the stroller while he was still sleeping. MJ would stay sleeping for hours while we were out and about. We had a blast walking around, eating and taking pics for a good amount of time while he slept.


5. Plan outfits a head of time. Check out the weather. Pick two outfits per day. Stack their shirt and pants together and roll that outfit like a little burrito. I saved so much time and space in my luggage packing his outfits that way.


6. Bring a neck pillow. It’s smaller than a boppy and lay your little ones head on the pillow after they fall asleep during the plane ride.


7. If you can, keep your baby up before your flight! We can’t always chose flight times, keep your baby up so they will knock out on the flight.


8. Leave the towel and wash cloths at home. There will be towels, there will be wash cloths where you are going. If there’s not any wash cloths your hands will do just fine. Save the space.


9.Bring your baby’s birth certificate and make sure when booking your flight you include your lap infant on your reservation.


10.Pack two nights before. That way if there’s anything missing you have a whole day to run to the store.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page