top of page

What holiday traditions can I do during a pandemic?


2020 has been weird, and hard on a lot of us. In good 2020 fashion Christmas and holiday traditions have also been a victim of COVID. There are so many traditions or events I had imagined I would be doing this year that I unfortunately am not able to. I won't let 2020 stop me from having some holiday fun this season and it shouldn't stop you either!


With that said here are a few things that not even the pandemic can't ruin that you can enjoy with your loved ones this holiday season!


1. Elf on the Shelf

I did not intend on doing elf the shelf until MJ was at least 3 but I think it’s really fun to get creative and start it this year. Hopefully he will be at least a little engaged trying to find where the elf is “hidden” every morning. I plan to start Dec 1st through Christmas Eve. I have seen a lot of ideas online of a “pandemic” scene for their elf on the shelf which would be really fun to incorporate for you kiddos.




A few accessories for your elf on the shelf



2. Getting a new ornament every year

To be safe getting a new ornament each year can be done through some online shopping! Get a special family ornament or get each kid their own ornament every year to put on the tree. My mom did this and I still have the very first ornament she bought me that I still hang on her tree every year, 30 years later.





3. Christmas Eve Box

If you haven’t seen this before wrap a box to open Christmas eve night that has a holiday book, matching holiday pajamas, some snacks and a Christmas movie. It is a super fun tradition to start every evening on Christmas eve that can continue year after year.






Matching holiday pajamas




4. Pick out a Christmas Tree

I am a huge fan of picking out a real Christmas tree every year. It brings less plastic into the environment and helps support farmers. The smell is also amazing. Walmart and Home Depot both are offering delivery service for your real tree if you prefer to stay home safe instead of buying a real tree in person this year.



5. Bake homemade cookies and leave out reindeer food

Try and have your little one help you bake some cookies in whatever way they can and make it fun! Don't forget to leave out some carrots for the reindeer! Try to take a bite out of the cookie and carrot and leave it on the plate for your little one to find Christmas morning.


Santa Plate Set




There’s so much that can be done from home this holiday season. Decorate a gingerbread house, watch Christmas themed movies, drive around and look at houses decorated for Christmas from the safety of your car. Make the most of this Christmas season from the comfort of your home, it’s a little refreshing to not worry about all the events and make these simple and fun memories with your loved ones.


Sources


31 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page